All My Rowdy Friends


First Post by J. Emerson-Kramer
January 21, 2009, 10:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello! I’m Jon, my partners in crime in this venture will have their first posts along soon but this one is for me to introduce myself and what better way to do that than with a selection of some of my favorite songs from a few artists I enjoy. Here we go:

John Coltrane – Moment’s Notice
Coltrane for me has always been like an old friend you meet after a long time apart. No matter how well you know each other, there’s always something new to be said, a new facet of their personality to discover. No matter how many times I listen to John Coltrane on Moment’s Notice there is always something that sounds new to me.
Buy Blue Train from Amazon

Beach Boys – God Only Knows
I love the album Pet Sounds, it is deep and was revolutionary for the time and the technology. As far as pop songs go, God Only Knows has a bit of dark sentiment wrapped up in gorgeous harmony and I really dig that.
Buy Pet Sounds from Amazon

Wilco – Jesus, etc.
As soon as the violin comes in a couple seconds into the song, my heart breaks. Pair that with Jeff Tweedy’s voice and you can’t go wrong, this is a perfect song for me.
Buy Yankee Hotel Foxtrot from Amazon

Decemberists – We Both Go Down Together
A dark instrumental line, a gorgeous uplifting chorus, what could be better.
Buy Picaresque from Emusic

Arcade Fire – My Body Is A Cage
I love the Arcade Fire, I love the organ in this song, and the first lyric just hit me the first time I heard it. Plus it has a great big cinematic break to it, which I really appreciate.
Buy Neon Bible from Emusic

Dosh – Fireball
One of my favorite tracks from a great one-man band. Doesn’t hurt he’s a hometown boy either.
Buy The Lost Take from Emusic

Sims – Dreamsleep
While P.O.S. may be the most visible of the Doomtree collective, Sims is a quality emcee and he has a nasty flow on this track.
Buy Lights Out Paris from Emusic

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That Coltrane track is wonderful, “Blue Train” is such a good album.

Comment by gravelheadwrap




Leave a Reply

