All My Rowdy Friends


Dr. Who Dat?, Animal Collective by Chris M
February 7, 2009, 4:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As some of you might know, I am part of The Music Lobby crew. We update every week with new music reviews. My newest review is the Dr. Who Dat? review. We try to review new releases that we’re feeling. I’ve also included Playbynumbers’ review of the new Animal Collective that is amazing.

Animal Collective
Animal Collective, “Merriweather Post Pavilion”
Animal Collective have always been a band that I’ve respected more than I’ve actually liked; it’s not that I dislike dissonance and “difficult” music, necessarily, but I just never saw any reason to go to indie rock for it. I am, however, in love with “Merriweather Post Pavilion.” It’s easily the band’s best album, and (for better or worse, depending on your perspective) all the abrasiveness has been removed – Avey Tare’s yelps and screeching are kept to a minimum, there are actual song structures, judicious use of electronic instrumentation, perfect sequencing, and a lot of sing-along choruses. Every single track is good, plus there’s just something ineffably magically awesome about the album taken as a whole.


Dr. Who Dat?, “Beyond 2morrow”
Some are calling “Beyond 2morrow” an album while others are calling it an EP. I find it to be a mini-album. While not nearly as impressive as the masterpiece known as “Beat Journey,” “Beyond 2morrow” has many redeeming qualities and shows a side of Jneiro Jarel/Dr Who Dat? that hasn’t entirely been heard before. With the vocal collaboration of Shape of Broad Minds on the title track “Beyond 2morrow,” many of the beats would fit nicely on a second Shape of Broad Minds LP. If anything, I’d consider the new release a bridge between the old and future. In a recent Myspace blog, Jneiro Jarel mentioned that he “didn’t know how people would receive it,” I can understand what he is getting at. I am completely satisfied with the outcome of the release as I tend to “zig zag” a lot as Jneiro mentions as well. Overall, it is nice to hear releases like these, especially from someone like Jneiro for already having a fairly in depth catalogue. He done did it with this one.

The Music Lobby

-Chris

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

