All My Rowdy Friends


A Story by J. Emerson-Kramer
January 30, 2009, 10:42 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

When I was growing up, I remember always being woken up on the weekends to the sound of my mother playing piano in the living room below my bedroom. At the time, I absolutely hated this intrusion into my sleep. I wanted to be in bed till noon, dammit! But now looking back on it, I realize it was something very special, so here are the pieces that I will never forget.

In no particular order:

Claude Debussy – I. Andantino con moto
From Arabesques.

Maurice Ravel – I. Prelude (vif)

Maurice Ravel – Rigaudon (assez vif)
Both from Le Tombeau de Couperin.

Claude Debussy – L’isle Joyeuse

Chopin – Ballade in G Minor, Op. 23

Bonus:
Joshua Bell – Vocalise (Rachmaninoff)
This is possibly one of the most beautiful pieces I have ever heard. It literally stopped me in my tracks the first time I heard it, as I was walking in downtown Minneapolis.
Buy it here
Support musicians, buy from Emusic

– Jon out.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

wonderful.

Comment by Charlie Ward




Leave a Reply

